Members of the Second Continental Congress

The First Continental Congress did a few things, like draft the Articles of Association 1 and to provide for a Second Continental Congress to meet on May 10, 1775, but the big news from the Second Continental Congress was that they began debating a resolution in favor of independence, which was approved on July 2, 1776 and signed 2 days later. Big news indeed.

And yeah, you know some of these men, but what about the other men? Here they are, the members of the Second Continental Congress – 2

From New Castle, Kent, and Sussex, on Delaware
George Read
Caesar Rodney
Thomas McKean

From the Province of Pennsylvania
George Clymer
Benjamin Franklin
Robert Morris
John Morton
Benjamin Rush
George Ross
James Smith
James Wilson
George Taylor

From the Province of Massachusetts Bay
John Adams
Samuel Adams
John Hancock
Robert Treat Paine
Elbridge Gerry

From the Province of New Hampshire
Josiah Bartlett
William Whipple
Matthew Thornton

From the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
Stephen Hopkins
William Ellery

From the Province of New York
Lewis Morris
Philip Livingston
Francis Lewis
William Floyd

From the Province of Georgia
Button Gwinnett
Lyman Hall
George Walton

From the Colony and Dominion of Virginia
Richard Henry Lee
Francis Lightfoot Lee
Carter Braxton
Benjamin Harrison
Thomas Jefferson
George Wythe
Thomas Nelson, Jr.

From the Province of North Carolina
William Hooper
John Penn
Joseph Hewes

From the Province of South Carolina
Edward Rutledge
Arthur Middleton
Thomas Lynch, Jr.
Thomas Heyward, Jr.

From the Province of New Jersey
Abraham Clark
John Hart
Francis Hopkinson
Richard Stockton
John Witherspoon

From the Connecticut Colony
Samuel Huntington
Roger Sherman
William Williams
Oliver Wolcott
From Maryland
Charles Carroll
Samuel Chase
Thomas Stone
William Paca